Local Pension Board

As a result of changes to governance arrangements to pension schemes in the public sector, Torfaen County Borough Council as an administering authority for the LGPS is required to have in place a local pension board. The role of the board is to assist the Greater Gwent (Torfaen) Pension Fund in complying with all the legislative requirements making sure the scheme is being effectively and efficiently governed and managed.

The Pension Board members work with the Council in its role as an administering authority and with the pension fund's officers to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you as a member get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by regulations which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, the members of the local pension board are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions in general, so receive appropriate training.

The board must have an equal number of employer representatives and scheme member representatives. In addition we have also appointed an independent chair to oversee the smooth running of the board.

Scheme member and employer representatives are appointed to the board for a term of 3 years. The term of office for the independent Chair is determined by the Council.

The members of the board as at April 2018 are as follows:

Employee representatives:

Bob Campbell

Ian Reese

Anthea Wellington

John Wright

Employer representatives:

Steve Harford

Rhian Hayden

Clive Rogers

Meirion Rushworth

Jane Waters

Independent Chair:

Ian Coleman


Board members can seek reappointment at the end of their term.


You access the minutes from previous board meetings by clicking the link below

Pension Board Minutes

Helpful information